GUSTAVE COURBET (1819-1877) Two deer at... - Lot 49 - Osenat

Lot 49
Go to lot
Estimation :
80000 - 120000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 156 250EUR
GUSTAVE COURBET (1819-1877) Two deer at... - Lot 49 - Osenat

GUSTAVE COURBET (1819-1877)


Two deer at rest in a snowy landscape

Oil on canvas with the collection stamp 'TD' (Théodore Duret, on the reverse side of the canvas) and the red wax stamp 'F.L.D.' (on the frame, unidentified initials, probably Fernand Lair-Dubreuil) 46. 5 x 55.5 cm.5 x 55.5 cm. painted in 1866 Mr. Niklaus Manuel Güdel, president of the Swiss Society for the Study of Gustave Courbet, exhibited and published the present work.


Provenance: Théodore Duret, Paris (Collection stamp with the initials 'TD', on the reverse of the canvas). Private collection, Paris. Exhibition: Ornans, Musée Gustave Courbet, edited by Diana Blome and Niklaus Manuel Güdel, Courbet / Hodler: an encounter, October 2019-January 2020, p. 159, no. 107 (the present work illustrated). oil on canvas, bears the collection stamp "TD" (Théodore Duret on the backside of the canvas), and the red wax seal "F.L.D." on the frame (not identified, probably Fernand Lair-Dubreuil), 18 7/64 x 21 ²¹/32 in, painted in 1866.


"One of the most charismatic, complex, and innovative figures of his time, Gustave Courbet made headlines like few of his contemporaries. Beginning in the 1840s between Romanticism and the troubadour style, he asserted himself in the 1850s as the champion of Realism, in opposition to the Romanticism and Academism dominating the Parisian art scene in 1850. A pioneer of modern painting and a precursor of Impressionism, Courbet was one of the first artists to forge his legend and success by multiplying provocations and scandals, rejecting political and clerical institutions, until his final exile to Switzerland in 1873. Courbet emerged during the 1850s as the painter of the forces of nature and of uncompromising human representation, which he raised to the level of history painting. In this respect, Courbet's birthplace, Ornans in the Franche-Comté region of France, greatly influenced his search for an artistic truth anchored in reality. Courbet was particularly attached to this largely rural region of small mountains, fertile agricultural valleys and pine forests, and drew inspiration from it for his greatest masterpieces, manifestos of Realism: The Burial in Ornans, The Painter's Studio, The Meeting. After living in Paris in the 1840s-50s, Courbet returned to nature in the 1860s as his reputation grew and his financial situation improved. Courbet alternated his time between Normandy and especially Ornans, which became his main base until his exile in Switzerland. He turned to landscapes, a genre he was particularly fond of and which was more intimate. Courbet was more interested in vigorous subjects, such as the powerful waves of Normandy in heavy weather, or in exploring the picturesque sites and wildlife of the Jura, than in the circles of influence with which he was associated. It was during the winter of 1866-67, back in Ornans after a stay with the diplomat Horace de Choiseul Praslin, that Courbet began his most important series of snow landscapes, a subject he first depicted in 1856 with Stag Running in the Snow, and then more regularly from the 1860s onwards. The present work is part of this series painted during the winter of 1866-67. Courbet captures a moment of serenity in a corner of the Ornans valley where, between the river and the forest, two deer rest serenely, unknowingly observed, frozen in the glistening snow. The complex treatment of this work testifies to Courbet's unceasing quest to mimic reality: working sometimes with a brush for the underlays, sometimes with a knife for the surface materials, Courbet innovates with a varied approach to materials to transcribe the most sincerely the mineral, the vegetable and the animal. The vivid cold, the glitter of the snow and the meditative silence of the frozen nature, is tempered by a compact composition with a limited perspective, which reinforces the intimacy and the privileged character of the scene. With this subject, Courbet inaugurated the genre of the snowy landscape, until then little practiced in France, but which would later become the obligatory passage of the Impressionist generation: Monet, Renoir, Whistler, close to Courbet, but also Pissarro, Sisley, Caillebotte and even Gauguin tried their hand at it. It is also, by its freedom of subject and its non-conformism, the theme that announces the advent of the modern painter, guided not by academic codes but by his own sensitivity. The famous critic Théodore Duret, defender of Courbet and the Impressionists, and who was one of the first owners of the present work, was not mistaken."

My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

GUSTAVE COURBET (1819-1877)  Deux chevreuils... - Lot 49 - Osenat

Lot 49
Aller au lot
Estimation :
80000 - 120000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 156 250EUR
GUSTAVE COURBET (1819-1877)  Deux chevreuils... - Lot 49 - Osenat

GUSTAVE COURBET (1819-1877) 


Deux chevreuils au repos dans un paysage de neige

Huile sur toile avec le tampon de collection 'TD' (Théodore Duret, au revers de la toile) et le cachet à la cire rouge 'F.L.D.' (sur le châssis, initiales non identifiées, probablement Fernand Lair-Dubreuil) 46.5 x 55.5 cm. Peint en 1866  Monsieur Niklaus Manuel Güdel, président de la Société suisse pour l'étude de Gustave Courbet, a exposé et publié la présente œuvre.  


Provenance : Théodore Duret, Paris (Cachet de collection avec les initiales 'TD', au revers de la toile). Collection privée, Paris.  Exposition : Ornans, Musée Gustave Courbet, sous la direction de Diana Blome et Niklaus Manuel Güdel, Courbet / Hodler: une rencontre, octobre 2019-janvier 2020, p. 159, no. 107 (la présente oeuvre illustrée). Oil on canvas, bears the collection stamp "TD" (Théodore Duret on the backside of the canvas), and the red wax seal "F.L.D." on the frame (non identified, probably Fernand Lair-Dubreuil), 18 7/64 x 21 ²¹/32 in, painted in 1866.


« L'une des figures les plus charismatiques, complexes et novatrices de son temps, Gustave Courbet a défrayé la chronique comme peu de ses contemporains. Débutant dans les années 1840 entre romantisme et style troubadour, il s’affirme dans les années 1850 comme le chantre du Réalisme, en opposition aux Romantisme et à l'Académisme dominant la scène artistique parisienne en 1850. Pionnier de la peinture moderne, précurseur de l’impressionnisme, Courbet est l’un des premiers artistes à avoir forgé sa légende et son succès en multipliant provocations et scandales, rejetant les institutions politiques et cléricales, jusqu’à son exil final en Suisse en 1873. Courbet émerge au cours des années 1850 comme le peintre des forces de la nature et de la représentation humaine sans concession, qu’il hisse au niveau de la peinture d’Histoire. À ce titre, la terre natale de Courbet, à Ornans en Franche-Comté, a largement influencé sa recherche d'une vérité artistique ancrée dans le réel. Courbet est particulièrement attaché à cette région en grande partie rurale faite de petites montagnes, de vallées agricoles fertiles et de forêts de pin, et y puise son inspiration pour ses plus grands chefs d'œuvres, manifestes du Réalisme: L'enterrement à Ornans, L'atelier du peintre, La rencontre. Après avoir vécu dans les années 1840-50 à Paris, Courbet revient à partir des années 1860 à la nature, sa réputation grandissant et sa situation financière s’améliorant. Courbet alterne son temps entre la Normandie et surtout Ornans, qui deviendra son principal point d'attache jusqu'à son exil en Suisse. Il se tourne vers le paysage, genre qu'il affectionne particulièrement et qui relève d'une création plus intime. Les sujets vigoureux, mettant en scène une nature franche comme les puissantes vagues normandes par gros temps, où l'exploration des sites pittoresques et la faune sauvage du Jura, passionnent davantage Courbet que les cercles d'influence qu'il côtoie. C'est durant l'hiver 1866-67, de retour à Ornans après un séjour chez le diplomate Horace de Choiseul Praslin, que Courbet entame sa plus importante série de paysages de neige, sujet qu'il a représenté pour la première fois en 1856 avec Cerf courant dans la neige, puis de manière plus régulière à partir des années 1860. La présente œuvre s'intègre dans cette série peinte durant l’hiver 1866-67. Courbet capte un instant de sérénité dans un recoin de la vallée d’Ornans où, entre rivière et forêt, reposent sereinement deux chevreuils observés à leur insu, figés dans une neige scintillante. Le traitement complexe de cette œuvre témoigne de la quête incessante de Courbet pour mimiquer la réalité: travaillant tantôt au pinceau pour les sous-couches, tantôt au couteau pour les matières en surface, Courbet innove par une approche variée des matières pour transcrire le plus sincèrement le minéral, le végétal et l’animal. Le froid vif, le scintillement de la neige et le silence méditatif de la nature figée, est tempéré par une composition compacte avec une perspective limitée, qui renforce l'intimité et le caractère privilégié de la scène. Avec ce sujet, Courbet inaugure le genre du paysage de neige, jusqu'alors peu pratiqué en France, mais qui sera par la suite le passage obligé de la génération impressionniste: Monet, Renoir, Whistler, proche de Courbet, mais aussi Pissarro, Sisley, Caillebotte et même Gauguin s'y sont essayés. C’est également, par sa liberté de sujet et son anticonformisme, le thème qui annonce l’avènement du peintre moderne, guidé non pas par des codes académiques mais par sa propre sensibilité. Le célèbre critique Théodore Duret, défenseur de Courbet et des impressionnistes, et qui fut l’un des premiers propriétaires de la présente œuvre, ne s’y est pas trompé. »

Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue