1963 CITROËN DS 19 GT BOSSAERT

Lot 84
Got to lot
Estimation :
120000 - 180000 EUR
1963 CITROËN DS 19 GT BOSSAERT
Serial number 4247187 - Only surviving coupe
Original engine preparation
One of the rarest DS in the world
Frua drawing - Good condition
French registration



The extraordinary story of the 19 GT is above all the story of a man who was at the origin of the project. Hector Bossaert, a mechanics enthusiast, saw in the DS a potential that few customers were interested in. Originally from the North of France, Mr Bossaert started to work on small mechanical preparations. He even goes so far as to sell kits that allow him to increase the power of his engine in no time. Thus, at the end of the 1950s, he made modifications to DS and ID engines and his reputation in the field led him to go even further and create his own coupe based on a DS 19. This project was born in 1959 with the help of Pietro Frua who drew up the stylistic plans for what would become the GT 19. Shorter by more than 45 cm than the sedan, the GT also has a 7 cm lower ground clearance. The front end doesn't change much, but the rear end gets some characteristic wings. And it's this rear end that really makes this coupe an atypical thing, taking up the codes of transalpine sedans and coupes. Finally, the GT has a plexiglass rear window and chevron crests turned a quarter to the right as a nod to the model.
In the cabin, the DS spirit is almost non-existent and one finds oneself seated behind a flock of Jaeger-type dials that are certainly nicer than the "classic" DS dials and a speedometer graduated at 200 km/h. With an engine preparation, the 4 cylinder of 1900 cm3 of the 19 will go from 75 to more than 100 hp, propelling the GT to nearly 170 km/h, a record!
The upholstery is typical of the top-of-the-range DS, all stretched leather and extremely comfortable, but it is true that the rear seat is very close to the front seat because of the shortened wheelbase.
10 or 11 coupés were built by Mr Bossaert's company "Gété" in Meteren and only 1 cabriolet. Today only one coupe and the only cabriolet remain, making these rarities at that time real mirages.

The DS 19 GT was built by Bossaert in 1963. It arrived in a restored state and was very well preserved by its owner. The car is painted in burgundy with aluminium rims matching the bodywork. The GT has all these characteristic aesthetic elements, notably the name "19 GT Bossaert" in gold lettering on the rear trunk as well as the two pairs of chevrons turned to the right on the rear quarter windows. In the interior, the sublimely patinated interior still presents very well and does not lie on the qualities of French manufacturing of the time.
We offer you the opportunity to acquire a car unique in the world but very well known to Citroën enthusiasts, exhibited at Retromobile in 2016, a real UFO on the road that will show you a completely different aspect of the mythical DS.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

1963 CITROËN DS 19 GT BOSSAERT

Lot 84
Aller au lot
Estimation :
120000 - 180000 EUR
1963 CITROËN DS 19 GT BOSSAERT
Numéro de série 4247187 - Unique coupé survivant
Préparation moteur d’origine
Une des DS la plus rare du Monde
Dessin Frua - Bel état de conservation
Carte grise française



L’extraordinaire histoire de la 19 GT est avant tout l’histoire d’un homme qui fut à l’origine du projet. Passionné de mécanique, Hector Bossaert, aperçoit dans la DS, un potentiel auquel peu de clients s’intéressent. Originaire du Nord, Mr Bossaert s’attèle à de petites préparations mécaniques. Il va même jusqu’à vendre des kits permettant d’augmenter la puissance de son moteur en un tour de main. C’est ainsi qu’à la fin des années 1950, il réalise des modifications sur des moteurs de DS et ID et sa renommée dans le domaine va le pousser à aller encore plus loin jusqu’à créer son propre coupé sur base de DS 19. Ce projet voit le jour en 1959 avec l’aide de Pietro Frua qui établira les plans stylistiques de ce qui deviendra la GT 19. Raccourci de plus de 45 cm par rapport à la berline, la GT dispose aussi d’une garde au sol plus basse de 7 cm. Côté esthétique, l’avant ne change pas beaucoup mais l’arrière adopte des ailes caractéristiques. Et c’est cette partie arrière qui va vraiment faire de ce coupé une chose atypique, reprenant les codes des berlines et coupés transalpins. Enfin, la GT dispose d’une lunette arrière en plexiglas et de blasons aux chevrons tournés d’un quart vers la droite comme clin d’œil au modèle.
Dans l’habitacle, l’esprit DS ne subsiste quasiment plus et on se retrouve assis derrière une flopée de cadrans type Jaeger surement plus jolis que les cadran DS « classiques » et un compteur gradué à 200 km/h. Avec une préparation moteur, le 4 cylindres de 1900 cm3 de la 19 passera de 75 à plus de 100 cv, propulsant le GT à près de 170 km/h en pointe, un record !
La sellerie est typique des DS haut de gamme, tout de cuir tendu et extrêmement confortable mais il est vrai que la banquette arrière s’est fortement rapprochée de la banquette avant à cause de l’empattement raccourci.
10 ou 11 coupés furent fabriqués par la société de Mr Bossaert « Gété » à Meteren et seulement 1 cabriolet. Aujourd’hui subsistent seulement un coupé et l’unique cabriolet faisant de ces raretés à l’époque de véritables mirages.

L’exemplaire de DS 19 GT fut construit par Bossaert en 1963. Arrivée jusqu’à nous dans un état sans doute restauré, elle fut très bien conservée par son propriétaire. Elle arbore une peinture bordeaux avec des jantes en aluminium à liseré assorti à la carrosserie. La GT dispose de tous ces éléments esthétiques caractéristiques notamment la nomination « 19 GT Bossaert » en lettre dorées sur la malle arrière ainsi que les deux paires de chevrons tournés vers la droite sur les custodes arrière. Dans l’habitacle, l’intérieur subliment patiné présente encore très bien et ne ment pas sur les qualités de fabrications françaises de l’époque.
Nous vous offrons la possibilité d’acquérir une voiture unique au Monde mais très connue des amateurs de Citroën, exposée à Rétromobile en 2016, véritable OVNI sur la route qui vous montrera un tout autre aspect de la mythique DS.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue