1967 AUSTIN HEALEY SPRITE

Lot 61
Got to lot
Estimation :
5000 - 7000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 9 600EUR
1967 AUSTIN HEALEY SPRITE
Serial number HAN965068
Nice and affordable convertible
French registration

Leonard Lord, the boss of BMC, wanted to revive the tradition of the small sports car and give the pre-war Austin Seven Nippy and Ulster a successor. The Longbridge design office then worked on a project based on the Austin A30 launched in 1951.

The Austin Healey Sprite was a mass-market convertible with a long career spanning from 1958 to 1971. Designed by D. Healey, the first Sprite has a characteristic body with two headlights on the bonnet which gave it the surprising name of "frogeye" in reference to the batrachian of which it looks like (especially in its green colour).
A popular little sports car, more than 120,000 of them were produced by the British Motor Corporation, 4 different versions were named Sprite, in great collaboration with the MG Midget from the 2nd series.

The Sprite is an ultra light and agile sports car. It gave its rivals a hard time in various competitions in which the Sprite stood out, notably at the 12 Hours of Sebring and the 24 Hours of Le Mans.
Small toy par excellence, the Sprite is still today the small convertible accessible to those who like to drive differently and keeps its promises of "Fun-tastic" car proclaimed by the advertising of the time.
The Austin Healey Sprite MK IV was first registered in 1967. Today this little convertible is presented in a rather elegant red paint. Its black leather and vinyl interior is patinated and needs a good cleaning.
Mechanically, the Sprite hasn't been driven for a while and needs to be overhauled to be able to drive it again.
Nice and pleasant to drive, we offer you the opportunity to drive this Sprite away; a good idea to start a collection, or to complete it.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

1967 AUSTIN HEALEY SPRITE

Lot 61
Aller au lot
Estimation :
5000 - 7000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 9 600EUR

1967 AUSTIN HEALEY SPRITE

Numéro de série HAN965068
Joli cabriolet abordable
Carte grise française

Leonard Lord, le patron de BMC souhaite renouer avec la tradition de la petite voiture de sport et donner une succession aux Austin Seven Nippy et Ulster d’avant-guerre. Le bureau de design de Longbridge travaille alors sur un projet avec pour base l’Austin A30 lancée en 1951.

Cabriolet à grande diffusion, l’Austin Healey Sprite connu une longue carrière s’étendant de 1958 à 1971. Dessinée par D. Healey, la Sprite première du nom arbore une carrosserie caractéristique avec les deux phares avant posés sur le capot qui lui donnera l’étonnant nom de « frogeye » en référence au batracien dont elle ressemble beaucoup (surtout dans sa couleur verte).
Petite sportive populaire, plus de 120 000 exemplaires sortirent des chaines de production de British Motor Corporation, 4 versions différentes portèrent le nom de Sprite, en grande collaboration avec la MG Midget à partir de la 2e série.

La Sprite est une sportive ultra légère et agile. Elle donna du fils à retordre à ses concurrentes dans différentes compétitions dans laquelle la Sprite s’est démarquée notamment aux 12H de Sebring ou aux 24H du Mans.
Petit jouet par excellence, la Sprite est encore aujourd’hui le petit cabriolet accessible pour ceux qui aime rouler différemment et conserve ses promesses de voiture « Fun-tastic » clamées par la publicité de l’époque.
L’exemplaire d’Austin Healey Sprite MK IV fut immatriculé pour la première fois en 1967. Aujourd’hui ce petit cabriolet se présente sous une peinture rouge assez élégante. Son intérieur en cuir et vinyle noir est patiné et nécessite un bon nettoyage.
Niveau mécanique, la Sprite n’ayant pas tourné depuis quelques temps, elle nécessite une révision afin de pouvoir se balader à nouveau.
Jolie et agréable à conduire, nous vous offrons l’opportunité de repartir avec cette Sprite ; une bonne idée pour démarrer une collection, ou pour la compléter.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue