KSCHESSINSKA MATHILDE (1872-1971) - AUTOGRAPH... - Lot 30 - Osenat

Lot 30
Got to lot
Estimation :
2000 - 3000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 22 500EUR
KSCHESSINSKA MATHILDE (1872-1971) - AUTOGRAPH... - Lot 30 - Osenat
KSCHESSINSKA MATHILDE (1872-1971) - AUTOGRAPH
ANDREI VLADIMIROVICH OF RUSSIA, GRAND DUKE (1879-1956) - AUTOGRAPH

Guestbook of the villa "Alam" in Cap d'Ail on the French Riviera. Bound in red leather, decorated with gold, spine with nerves, "Villa Alam" decorated on the back. Pages are numbered in pencil up to page 133 and contain text, thereafter the pages are blank. In-8, B.E. (slight traces of rubbing on the binding). Accompanied by its original wood and dark red leather case. As is (leather is missing from the back of the case, soiling). 29 x 6 x 21,5 cm.
Numerous autograph notes of the family's guests who came to the villa on different evenings between 27 February/12 March 1914 and 20 January 1929. An interruption of the notes from 2/15 May 1914 and to 12/25 March 1920 when the family was stuck in Russia because of the Russian Revolution. Grand Duke Andrei Vladimirovich will write in this book on March 12/25, 1920: "Return home, after a long absence, to the Villa Alam. Andrei, Malitchka, Vova".

After several holidays on the French Riviera, in 1913/1914 the famous ballerina Mathilde Kshessinska returned to Cap d'Ail where she bought a villa that she called "Alam" (anacyclic of her family nickname "Mala"). Together with her lover Grand Duke Andrei Vladimirovich of Russia, the ballerina spent her holidays in Cap d'Ail in 1914. The notes of the guests in the book stop in 1914 and resume only in 1920 when Grand Duke Andrei, Matilda and their son Vladimir decide to leave Russia and settle in France. In her memoirs, Mathilde will write: "Then, on Thursday, March 12, 1920, I returned to my dear villa "Alam". A new life began for me, the life of an emigrant. "In 1921, Andrei Vladimirovich will finally be able to marry Matilda and will spend the rest of his life with her. Until 1929, the villa remained the family's main residence in France. In 1921, they had to sell the villa to pay off their numerous debts and moved to Paris where Kshessinska opened a ballet school.

During these eight years, the villa "Alam" became the real home of the emigrating family. Numerous celebrations were organized there (New Year's Eve, Easter, birthdays) welcoming the greatest families of the Russian nobility in exile. Among them were the counts Dolgorukoff, Obolenski, Wolkonski, Tolstoy, Shuvaloff, Sheremetieff, Narishkin. Grand Duke Dmitry Pavlovich of Russia and Grand Duchess Anastasia Mecklenburg-Scwerin, the granddaughter of Nicholas I, often left their autographs among the guests of the villa. Writers such as Nikolai Obolensky or Aleksander Kazem-Bek, the sculptor Paolo Troubetskoy, Eugene Fabergé (the eldest son of the famous master goldsmith), and the painter Count Sergei Sherbatov also signed the guest book. For Easter 1926, the family welcomed their Russian ballet star friends Serge Lifar, Boris Kohno and Tamara Karsavina. Another ballet legend - Anna Pavlova (strongly supported by Mathilde since the beginning of her career) or the ballerina Vera Nemtchinova with her husband the dancer Nicolas Zverev often came for a coffee. The French librettist Henri Cain will leave a poem in the book to thank Mathilde for her welcome.

The guestbook presented at the auction is a precious testimony of Matilda Kshessinska's life in emigration, revealing her closest circle of friends and her importance in the life of Russia in exile.


Matilda Kshessinska and Grand Duke Andrei of Russia

Mathilde Kshessinska - star dancer of the Imperial Theatres of St. Petersburg from 1890 to 1917 (she obtained the status of star dancer in 1896).
After her final performance at the School of Dance, Matilda met Tsarevich Nicholas Alexandrovich (the future Emperor Nicholas II). Alexander III invited her to their table, saying, "Be the glory of our ballet. "That evening, the young tsarevich fell in love with the beautiful dancer. From that day on, Nicholas Alexandrovich did not miss any of Kshessinska's performances, he offered her a private hotel in St. Petersburg and remained in contact with the ballerina until the death of Alexander III. Later, Matilda will tell in her memoirs how the tsarevich danced parts of the ballet "Little Red Riding Hood" in the salon of her new home.
The romance ended with the death of Alexander III when Nicholas Alexandrovich had to take over the reign and announced his marriage to Alix of Hessen-Darmstadt (later Alexandra Feodorovna). Despite the break-up, they were able to maintain good relations and Matilda danced in the performances accompanying the coronation of Nicholas II.
Soon after, the ballerina became the mistress of Nicholas I's grandson - Grand Duke Sergei Mikhailovich. The great general never hid his love for Matilda and lived for more than a decade with her.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

KSCHESSINSKA MATHILDE (1872-1971) – AUTOGRAPHE...

Lot 30
Aller au lot
Estimation :
2000 - 3000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 22 500EUR

KSCHESSINSKA MATHILDE (1872-1971) – AUTOGRAPHE...

KSCHESSINSKA MATHILDE (1872-1971) – AUTOGRAPHE
ANDREÏ VLADIMIROVITCH DE RUSSIE, GRAND-DUC (1879-1956) – AUTOGRAPHE

Livre d’or de la villa « Alam » à Cap d’Ail sur la Côte d’Azur. Reliure en cuir rouge, orné d’or, dos aux nerfs, « Villa Alam » orné au dos. Les pages sont numérotées au crayon jusqu’à la page 133 et contiennent du texte, ensuite les pages sont blanches. In-8, B.E. (légères traces de frottement sur la reliure). Accompagné de son coffret d’origine en bois et cuir rouge foncé. En l’état (il manque du cuir au dos du coffret, salissures). 29 x 6 x 21,5 cm.
Nombreuses notes autographes des invités de la famille venus à la villa à l’occasion de différentes soirées entre 27 février/12 mars 1914 et 20 janvier 1929. Une interruption des notes du 2/15 mai 1914 et au 12/25 mars 1920 quand la famille reste bloquée en Russie à cause de la Révolution russe. Le grand-duc Andreï Vladimirovitch écrira dans ce livre le 12/25 mars 1920 : « Retour à la maison, après une longue absence, à la Villa Alam. Andreï, Malitchka, Vova ».

Après plusieurs vacances sur la Côte d’Azur, en 1913/1914 la ballerine célèbre Mathilde Kshessinska revient à Cap d’Ail où elle achète une villa qu’elle appellera « Alam » (anacyclique de son surnom familial « Mala »). Avec son amant le grand-duc Andreï Vladimirovitch de Russie la ballerine passera ses vacances du 1914 à Cap d’Ail. Les notes des invités dans le livre s’arrêtent en 1914 et ne reprennent qu’en 1920 quand le grand-duc Andreï, Mathilde et leur fils Vladimir décident de quitter la Russie pour s’installer en France. Dans ses mémoire, Mathilde écrira : « Alors, le jeudi 12 mars 1920, je suis rentrée à ma chère villa « Alam ». Une nouvelle vie commence pour moi, la vie d’une émigrée. » En 1921, Andreï Vladimirovitch pourra enfin se marier avec Mathilde et passera le reste de sa vie auprès d’elle. Jusqu’en 1929, la villa restera la résidence principale de la famille en France. En 1921, ils devront vendre la villa pour payer leurs nombreuses dettes et déménageront à Paris où Kshessinska ouvrira une école de ballet.

Au cours de ces huit ans, la villa « Alam » deviendra la vraie maison de la famille en émigration. De nombreuses fêtes y furent organsiées (Réveillons, Pâques, anniversaires) accueillant les plus grandes familles de la noblesse russe en exil. Parmi elles, les comptes Dolgorukoff, Obolenski, Wolkonski, Tolstoï, Shuvaloff, Sheremetieff, Narishkin. Le grand-duc Dimitri Pavlovitch de Russie et la petite fille du Nicolas Ier la grande-duchesse Anastasia Mecklembourg-Scwerin laissent souvent leurs autographes parmi des invités de la villa. Des écrivains comme Nicolas Obolenski où Aleksandre Kazem-Bek, le sculpteur Paolo Troubetskoï, Eugène Fabergé (le fils ainé du fameux maître orfèvre), le peintre comte Sergeï Sherbatov signent également ce livre d’or. Pour la fête de Pâques de 1926 la famille accueille ses amis étoiles du ballet russe Serge Lifar, Boris Kohno et Tamara Karsavina. Une autre légende du ballet – Anna Pavlova (fortement soutenue par Mathilde depuis le début de sa carrière) ou encore la ballerine Vera Nemtchinova avec son mari le danseur Nicolas Zverev vient souvent pour un café. Le librettiste français Henri Cain laissera dans le livre un poème pour remercier Mathilde pour son accueil.

Le livre d’or présenté aux enchères est un précieux témoignage de la vie de Mathilde Kshessinska dans l’émigration qui dévoile son cercle d’amis les plus proches et son importance dans la vie de la Russie en exil.


Mathilde Kshessinska et le grand-duc Andreï de Russie

Mathilde Kshessinska – danseuse étoile des théâtres impériaux de Saint-Pétersbourg de 1890 à 1917 (elle obtient le statut de danseuse étoile en 1896).
Après son spectacle final de l’École de danse, Mathilde fait la rencontre du tsarévitch Nicolas Alexandrovitch (futur empereur Nicolas II). Alexandre III l’invite à leur table en disant : « Soyez la gloire de notre ballet. » Ce soir-là, le jeune tsarévitch tombe amoureux de la belle danseuse. A compter de ce jour, Nicolas Alexandrovitch ne manquera aucun spectacle de Kshessinska, il lui offrira un hôtel particulier à Saint-Pétersbourg et restera en relation avec la ballerine jusqu’à la mort d’Alexandre III. Plus tard, Mathilde racontera dans ses mémoires comment le tsarévitch dansait les parties du ballet « Le Petit chaperon rouge » dans le salon de sa nouvelle maison.
La romance s’arrête à la mort d’Alexandre III quand Nicolas Alexandrovitch doit reprendre le règne et annonce son mariage avec Alix de Hessen-Darmstadt (future Alexandra Feodorovna). Malgré la rupture, ils ont pu garder de bonnes relations et Mathilde a dansé lors des spectacles accompagnant le couronnement de Nicolas II.
Peu après, la ballerine deviendra la maitresse du petit-fils du Nicolas Ier - le grand-duc Sergeï Mikhailovitch. Le grand général ne cacha jamais son amour pour Mathilde et vécut plusie
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue