CREATION OF THE GRAND PRIORESS OF RUSSIA... - Lot 46 - Osenat

Lot 46
Got to lot
Estimation :
20000 - 30000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 518 750EUR
CREATION OF THE GRAND PRIORESS OF RUSSIA... - Lot 46 - Osenat
CREATION OF THE GRAND PRIORESS OF RUSSIA
FOR THE ORDER OF MALTA

Precious diplomatic corpus of the 6 acts which made it possible to institute this Grand Priory of Russia, 3 signed by Paul I and 3 by his plenipotentiaries.

The first attempts at rapprochement between the Russian Empire and the Order of Malta date back to the 17th century. The Grand Master of the Order had addressed Catherine II several times hoping to obtain financial support and protection from Russia. Discussions got bogged down. The Grand Master found the Empress too demanding; Catherine II saw in Malta the possibility of setting up the Russian fleet in the middle of the Mediterranean in order to strengthen her position in Europe. Catherine II did not wish to finance the Order of Malta without this counterpart. The negotiations began again at the very beginning of the reign of her son Paul I, with whom the rapprochement took on a new dimension.

After the French Revolution, the Order of Malta found itself in a very complex situation. In 1792, the revolutionaries confiscated the French property of the Hospitallers, like those of all other religious orders. The Grand Priory of France was dissolved that same year and the Order lost three quarters of its income on French territory. The Republic tried to organise a coup d'état in Malta in 1793. The young Bonaparte was increasingly interested in the port in the middle of the Mediterranean. Moreover, after the third partition of the Kingdom of Poland in 1795, where the last priory of the Order of Malta was located outside the island, the situation became more complicated. A large part of Poland and the territories of the Ostozhesk Priory came under Russian domination and the priory ceased to finance the Order. A new attempt at rapprochement with the Russian Empire appears to be a last chance for the Order of Malta.

Paul I, a great enthusiast of orders of chivalry since childhood, found himself at the beginning of his reign in full division of the kingdom of Poland, with the result that the Polish Catholic population of the Empire was very large. The management of Catholic territories was no small task for a czar of an Orthodox country. The subject worries him and the idea of a merger of the Churches is spreading at the Court of Paul I. At the same time, Bonaparte's influence in Europe became a cause for concern for Russia, while the Empire had a lot to do in the south with Turkey and the Caucasus. At the end of the 1790s, Paul I was faced with political choices. When the Grand Master of the Order of Malta discussed the fate of the Polish Priory, the interests of the Russian Empire and Malta converged: for the first time in the history of the Order, religious differences were put aside and, a year later, an Orthodox Tsar became the Grand Master.

Hostile to the French Revolution, Paul I decided to organise and financially support the Grand Priory of the Order of Malta in Russia in order to establish himself as protector of the European nobility and to integrate the Polish Knights of Malta. In 1797, the two states signed a convention.


The Tsar appoints his negotiators as plenipotentiaries.

- PAUL I. Act signed, countersigned by Count Ivan Andreevich OSTERMAN as Chancellor and by Count and future Prince BEZBORODKO (to be appointed Prince in April 1797) as Foreign Minister; in Russian. St. Petersburg, 2 January 1797. 3 pp. large in-folio on a laid paper bifeuillet with mourning edging (Catherine II had just died a few weeks earlier), with armoured wax seal under paper.
Letters of credence from Count and future Prince Bezborodko and Prince Alexander Kurakin as plenipotentiaries to the Order of Malta for the purpose of negotiating an agreement to strengthen and extend the establishment of the Order in the Russian Empire. "We hereby announce that, wishing to give a clear proof of Our benevolence and consideration to the illustrious Order of Malta, by strengthening and extending in Our Empire the establishment of this Order, which exists in Poland and particularly in the provinces that have been united to Our Sovereignty, and with the intention of giving it consequently all its strength, value and execution, We have appointed and instituted (...) Count Alexander Besborodko, current privy councillor (...) and Prince Alexander Kourakine, Our Vice-Chancellor (...) to whom we empower, for ourselves and our name, not only to enter into negotiations and talks with Jules Réné Bailli, Count of Litta, Minister Plenipotentiary of the illustrious Order of Malthe (...) who is equally and sufficiently endowed with full powers on the part of the sub said Order (...) but also to draw up, conclude and sign with him on this subject an agreement and separate articles relating thereto (...)".

Among the plenaries
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

CREATION DU GRAND PRIEURE DE RUSSIE POUR...

Lot 46
Aller au lot
Estimation :
20000 - 30000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 518 750EUR

CREATION DU GRAND PRIEURE DE RUSSIE POUR...

CREATION DU GRAND PRIEURE DE RUSSIE
POUR L'ORDRE DE MALTE

Précieux corpus diplomatique des 6 actes ayant permis d'instituer ce Grand prieuré de Russie, soit 3 signés par Paul Ier et 3 par ses plénipotentiaires.

Les premières tentatives de rapprochements entre l’Empire russe et l’Ordre de Malte datent du XVIIe siècle. Le Grand Maître de l’Ordre s'était adressé plusieurs fois à Catherine II en espérant obtenir un soutien financier et une protection de la Russie. Les discussions s'enlisèrent. Le Grand Maître trouvait l’impératrice trop exigeante ; Catherine II voyait en Malte la possibilité d’installer la flotte russe en pleine Méditerranée afin de renforcer ses positions en Europe. Catherine II ne souhaitait pas financer l’Ordre de Malte sans cette contrepartie. Les négociations recomencernt au tout début du règne de son fils Paul Ier avec lequel le rapprochement prirent une autre dimension.

Après la Révolution française, l’Ordre de Malte se trouve dans une situation très complexe. En 1792, les révolutionnaires confisquent les biens français des Hospitaliers, comme ceux de tous les autres ordres religieux. Le Grand Prieuré de France est dissout cette même année et l'Ordre perd alors les trois quarts de ses revenus sur le territoire français . La Republique essaie d’organiser un coup d’État à Malte en 1793. Le port situé au milieu de Méditerranée intéresse de plus en plus le jeune Bonaparte. En outre, après le troisième partage du royaume de Pologne en 1795, où se trouvait le dernier prieuré de l'Ordre de Malte en dehors de l’île, la situation se complique. Une grande partie de la Pologne et les territoires du prieuré d’Ostozhesk passent sous domination russe et le prieuré cesse de financer l’Ordre. Une nouvelle tentative de rapprochement avec l’Empire russe apparaît comme une dernière chance pour l’Ordre de Malte.

Paul Ier, grand passionné des ordres de chevalerie depuis l’enfance, se retrouve au début de son règne en plein partage du royaume de la Pologne avec pour conséquence une forte affluence de la population polonaise catholique dans l’Empire. La gestion de territoires catholiques n’est pas une mince affaire pour un tsar de pays orthodoxe. Le sujet l’inquiète et l’idée d’une fusion des Églises se répand à la Cour de Paul Ier. Parallèlement, l’influence de Bonaparte en Europe devient préoccupante pour la Russie, alors que l’Empire a fort à faire au sud avec la Turquie et le Caucase. À la fin des années 1790, Paul Ier se trouve face à des choix politiques. Au moment où le Grand Maître de l’Ordre de Malte aborde la question du destin du prieuré de Pologne, les intérêts de l’Empire russe et de Malte convergent : pour la première fois dans l’histoire de l’Ordre, la différence religieuse sera mise de côté et, un an plus tard, un tsar orthodoxe en deviendra Le Grand Maître.

Hostile à la Révolution française, Paul Ier décide d'organiser et de soutenir financièrement le Grand Prieuré de l'Ordre de Malte en Russie pour se poser en protecteur de la noblesse européenne et pour intégrer les chevaliers de Malte polonais. En 1797, les deux États signeront une convention.


Le tsar nomme ses négociateurs plénipotentiaires

• PAUL Ier. Acte signé, contresigné par le comte Ivan Andreïévitch OSTERMAN en qualité de chancelier et par le comte et futur prince BEZBORODKO (sera nommé prince en avril 1797) en qualité de ministre des Affaires étrangères ; en russe. Saint-Pétersbourg, 2 janvier 1797. 3 pp. grand in-folio sur un bifeuillet de papier vergé avec liseré de deuil (Catherine II venait de mourir quelques semaines auparavant), avec sceau de cire armorié sous papier.
Lettres de créance du comte et futur prince Bezborodko et du prince Alexandre Kourakine comme plénipotentiaires auprès de l'Ordre de Malte aux fins de négocier une convention destinée à affermir et étendre l'établissement de cet Ordre dans l'Empire russe. « Faisons savoir par les présentes que, voulant donner une preuve éclatante de Notre bienveillance et considération à l’illustre Ordre de Malte, par l’affermissement et l’extension dans Notre Empire de l’établissement de cet ordre, qui existoit en Pologne et particulièrement dans les provinces qui ont été réunies à Notre Souveraineté, et dans l’intention de lui donner en conséquence toute sa force, valeur et éxécution, Nous avons nommé et institué (…) le Comte Alexandre Besborodko, conseiller privé actuel (…) et le prince Alexandre Kourakine, Notre vice-chancelier (…) auxquels nous donnons pouvoir, pour nous et notre nom, non seulement d’entrer en négociation et pourparlers avec Jules Réné Bailli, Comte de Litta, Ministre plénipotentiaire de l’illustre Ordre de Malthe (…) lequel est également et suffisamment muni des pleins pouvoirs de la part du sousdit Ordre (…) mais aussi d’arrêter, conclure et signer avec lui sur cet objet une convention et des articles séparés y relatifs (…) ».

Parmi les plé
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue