1978 MERCEDES-BENZ 280 S W116

Lot 54
Got to lot
Estimation :
10000 - 12000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 12 000EUR
1978 MERCEDES-BENZ 280 S W116
Serial No. 116 020 12 10 797 8
37,000 original kilometres
Automatic gearbox
Carburetor model
French car registration document
Succession of Mr. X

Flagship of the brand with the star between 1972 and 1980, the W116 replaced the W108 and saw the birth of the mythical name "S-Class" for Mercedes' Sonderklasse. This special class offers customers the highest level of comfort and presence on the road; the W116 is available with several petrol and diesel engines with 5, 6 or 8 cylinders. Almost half a million units will be produced and exported to several continents, notably North America, where it has been a great success, but also to Asia and Africa, where the development of countries allows rich businessmen to enjoy this German luxury.

With only 37,000 original kilometres, this is probably one of the most fuel-efficient cars on the market, and you can feel it in its "like-new" interior of taut blue velvet and wood trim; the bodywork has a few slight defects but is in good overall condition. In 2015, the car will undergo a major overhaul including :

-Engine oil change
-Draining the radiator
-Draining the coolant
-Replacing accessory belts
-The addition of an additional fan
-A cleaning of the air box
-An ignition wire harness check
-Fitting a battery switch
-Dismantling, emptying and cleaning the fuel tank
-Repairing the fuel gauge
-Replacing fuel hoses
-Replacing the fuel pump

In 2016, the W116 also underwent a complete overhaul and replacement of the engine insulation and a check of the carburettor throttle linkage; all this work was carried out at Cecil Cars in Ollainville. This was one of the almost unique opportunities to buy a low cost model with this rare mileage and to afford the luxury of driving an atypical, expensive and exclusive car at the time.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

1978 MERCEDES-BENZ 280 S W116

Lot 54
Aller au lot
10 000 - 12 000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 12 000 EUR

1978 MERCEDES-BENZ 280 S W116

N° de série 116 020 12 10 797 8
37 000 kilomètres d’origine
Boite automatique
Modèle à carburateur
Carte grise française
Succession de Monsieur X

Vaisseau amiral de la marque à l’étoile entre 1972 et 1980, la W116 remplace la W108 et voit naitre la mythique appellation « Classe S » pour Sonderklasse de Mercedes. Cette classe spéciale propose aux clients un confort et une prestance sur la route au plus haut de la gamme de la marque; la W116 est disponible avec plusieurs motorisations en essence et diesel comprenant 5, 6 ou 8 cylindres. Fabriquée à presque un demi-million d’exemplaires, elle s’exportera dans plusieurs Continents notamment en Amérique du Nord où elle connu un franc succès mais également en Asie, et en Afrique où le développement des pays permet à de riches hommes d’affaires ce luxe germanique.

Comptabilisant seulement 37 000 kilomètres d’origine, notre exemplaire est surement l’un des moins kilométré du marché, et cela se ressent dans son habitacle « comme neuf » de velours bleu tendu et de boiserie; la carrosserie accuse quelques légers défauts mais est dans un bon état général. En 2015, la voiture connu une grosse révision comprenant :

-La vidange moteur
-La vidange radiateur
-La vidange du liquide de refroidissement
-Le remplacement des courroies d’accessoire
-L’apport d’un ventilateur additionnel
-Un nettoyage de la boite à air
-Une vérification du faisceau d’allumage
-Le montage d’un coupe-batterie
-Le démontage, la vidange et le nettoyage du réservoir d’essence
-La réparation de la jauge d’essence
-Le remplacement des durites d’essence
-Le remplacement de la pompe à essence

En 2016, la W116 a également subi une révision complète et un remplacement de l’isolant moteur ainsi qu’une vérification de la tringlerie d’accélérateur carburateur; tous ces travaux furent réalisés chez Cecil Cars à Ollainville. Il s’agit de l’une des opportunités quasiment unique de s’offrir un exemplaire de ce modèle à un cout faible avec ce kilométrage rare et d’ainsi se payer le luxe de rouler dans une voiture atypique, onéreuse et exclusive à l’époque.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue