LAMPAS, Spain, Granada, probably from the... - Lot 138 - Osenat

Lot 138
Go to lot
Estimation :
3000 - 5000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 250 000EUR
LAMPAS, Spain, Granada, probably from the... - Lot 138 - Osenat

LAMPAS, Spain, Granada, probably from the Nasrid period (1230-1492), Mudejar period, 15th century, or a faithful replica from the 19th century (?), red satin background, black, yellow and cream decoration of crowned lions facing each other on either side of a cypress tree, between cut-out palms evoking the name of Allah, in the form of a shield surmounted by a carnation, canvas lining, mounted on a panel, under glass and in a frame (wear, comes from an old dalmatic, lacks the edges).

82 x 54 cm

Provenance : Jean-Joseph Marquet de Vasselot (1871- 1946), curator at the Louvre museum in 1902 then at Cluny in 1926, remained in the descendants.

A copy in all points similar, with the same cup for a dalmatic and the same dimensions (82 x 54 cm) is kept in the Museum of fabrics in Lyon. It is probably the other side of the dalmatic from which our panel comes. It is reproduced in the Guide to the Musée des Tissus de Lyon, page 73: "This piece, and the two others from the same room, belonged to the De Boislève collection. The Musée National du Moyen Age and the Abegg Stiftung also own it. Perhaps, like many oriental textiles particularly appreciated for their refinement, this one was the back of a chasuble? This is what its particular cut would suggest. .... "Spain XIV-XVth c. Panel decorated with palmettes and lions. Lampas, silk. H. 0,82 ; L : 0,54. Purchase from Boislève, 1884. Inv 24000/1 "

Comparable examples in the Musée des Arts Décoratifs, Metropolitan Museum, Cleveland Museum, Victoria & Albert Museum (n° 785), Kunstgewerbe Museum of Berlin (n° 86,852)

Louise W. Mackie, Symbols of Power, no. 5-41 & 5-42, pp. 208 & 209; Sophie Desrosiers, Soieries et Autres Textiles de l'Antiquité au XVIe siècle, Musée National du Moyen-Age- Thermes de Cluny, cat 227, pp. 397 & 397; Isabelle Errera, Catalogue d'Etoffes Anciennes, no. 103, pp. 103; Ernest Flemming, Les Tissus, p. 56; Gaston Breton in the Gazette des Beaux-Arts, Paris 1882, ée période, p. 35 Le Tissu Ancien à l'Exposition de l'Union Centrale des Arts Décoratifs; R. Cox, La Soierie d'Art, plate 44; Barbara Markowsky, Kunstgewerbemuseum der Stadt Köln, EuropaIsche Seidengewebe des 13- 18 Jahrhunderts, n° 53, p. 137

Note on dating: In the absence of selvedges, the attribution and dating were made on the basis of comparisons with the above-mentioned museum catalogs, especially that of the Musée des Tissues in Lyon. No laboratory analysis of the dyes or carbon 14 has been carried out.

Expert :

Aymeric de Villelume

Expert near the Court of Appeal of Paris

Tel 06 07 72 03 98

aymeric.devillelume@aliceadsl.fr

My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

LAMPAS, Espagne, Grenade, probablement de... - Lot 138 - Osenat

Lot 138
Aller au lot
Estimation :
3000 - 5000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 250 000EUR
LAMPAS, Espagne, Grenade, probablement de... - Lot 138 - Osenat

LAMPAS, Espagne, Grenade, probablement de la période Nasride (1230-1492), époque Mudejar, XVème siècle, ou une fidèle réplique du XIXème siècle ( ?) , fond satin rouge, décor noir, jaune et crème de lions couronnés affrontés de part et d’autre d’un cyprès, entre des palmes découpées évoquant le nom d’Allah, en forme d’écu surmonté d’un œillet, doublure de toile, monté sur un panneau, sous verre et dans un cadre (usures, provient d’une ancienne dalmatique, manque les lisières).

82 x 54 cm

 

Provenance : Jean-Joseph Marquet de Vasselot (1871- 1946), conservateur au musée du Louvre en 1902 puis de Cluny en 1926, resté dans la descendance.

 

Un exemplaire en tous points semblables, revêtant la même coupe pour une dalmatique et les mêmes dimensions (82 x 54 cm) est conservé au musée des tissus de Lyon. Il s’agit probablement de l’autre face de la dalmatique dont est issu notre panneau. Il est reproduit dans le Guide du Musée des Tissus de Lyon, page 73 : « Ce morceau, et les deux autres provenant de la même pièce, appartenait à la collection De Boislève. Le musée national du Moyen Age et la Abegg Stiftung en possèdent également. Peut-être, comme beaucoup de textiles orientaux particulièrement appréciés pour leur raffinement, celui-ci a-t-il constitué le dos d’une chasuble ? C’est ce que laisserait supposer sa coupe particulière »…. « Espagne XIV-XVe s. Panneau à décor de palmettes et de lions. Lampas, soie. H. 0, 82 ; L : 0, 54. Achat à Boislève, 1884. Inv 24000/1 »

 

Des exemplaires comparables au Musée des Arts Décoratifs, Metropolitan Museum, au Cleveland Museum, Victoria & Albert Museum (n° 785), Kunstgewerbe Museum de Berlin (n° 86,852)

 

Louise W. Mackie, Symbols of Power, n° 5-41 & 5-42, pp. 208 & 209 ; Sophie Desrosiers, Soieries et Autres Textiles de l’Antiquité au XVIe siècle, Musée National du Moyen-Age- Thermes de Cluny, cat 227, pp. 397 & 397 ; Isabelle Errera, Catalogue d’Etoffes Anciennes, n° 103, pp. 103 ; Ernest Flemming, Les Tissus, p. 56 ; Gaston Breton dans la Gazette des Beaux-Arts, Paris 1882, ée période, p. 35 Le Tissu Ancien à l’Exposition de l’Union Centrale des Arts Décoratifs ; R. Cox, La Soierie d’Art, planche 44 ; Barbara Markowsky, Kunstgewerbemuseum der Stadt Köln, EuropaIsche Seidengewebe des 13- 18 Jahrhunderts, n° 53, p. 137

 

Avertissement quant à la datation: En l’absence de lisières, L’attribution et la datation ont été effectuées en fonction des comparaisons avec les catalogues de musée pré-cités, notamment celui des musées des tissus de Lyon. Il n’a pas été procédé à une analyse en laboratoire des colorants ni du carbone 14.

 

Expert :

Aymeric de Villelume

Expert près la Cour d’Appel de Paris

Tel 06 07 72 03 98

aymeric.devillelume@aliceadsl.fr

Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue