COFFRET in flake gold and mother-of-pearl... - Lot 77 - Osenat

Lot 77
Go to lot
Estimation :
1000 - 2000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 37 500EUR
COFFRET in flake gold and mother-of-pearl... - Lot 77 - Osenat

COFFRET in flake gold and mother-of-pearl inlays decorated on the lid with a mythological scene.

The interior presents a small retractable tray decorated with characters in ancient ruins.

Signed in the decoration.

Naples, Sarao workshop, mid 18th century

4 x 18 x 13.5 cm

(Accidents and missing parts)


Note :

The quilting technique, discovered in Naples at the end of the 16th century, was very fashionable from the end of the 17th to the 18th century in Germany and Italy.

Once the scale is made supple with boiling water and olive oil, the decoration is applied by pressure, decorating all sorts of objects of tableware, toiletries, inkwells, boxes, chests, combs, etc.. Precious objects, they were collected by the travelers of the Grand Tour. Queen Charlotte, wife of George III, had a collection of quilts.

Several Neapolitan workshops have been identified; however, very few objects are signed.

From the Sarao workshop, we know Gennaro but also Giuseppe who signed "Sarao Fecit Neapoli" a writing table kept in the Wallace Collection and illustrated in A. Gonzalez-Palacios, "Il Tempio del Gusto", Vol. II, Milan, 1984, p. 231, ill. 529.

The Sarao dynasty in Naples was one of the best workshops for quilted scale objects. They acquired a great talent in the art of quilting and in their decorations going from the pure "Bérain" decoration to a lightening with more important figures on an airy background.


Bibliography: A. Kugel, "Complètement Piqué, Le fol art de l'écaille à la cour de Naples", Editions Monelle Hayot, 2018.


Comment : * This specimen made from scale parts and fragments of Cheloniidae spp is well before June 1, 1947. It is classified in Annex I under the Washington Convention, in Annex A of the European Community Regulation 338/97 of 09/12/1996, as well as in the French Environment Code.


* On the other hand, for an exit of the EU, a CITES of re-export will be necessary, this one being the responsibility of the future purchaser.

My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

COFFRET mouvementé en écaillé piqué d'or... - Lot 77 - Osenat

Lot 77
Aller au lot
Estimation :
1000 - 2000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 37 500EUR
COFFRET mouvementé en écaillé piqué d'or... - Lot 77 - Osenat

COFFRET mouvementé en écaillé piqué d'or et incrustations de nacre à décor sur le couvercle d'une scène mythologique.

L'intérieur présente un petit plateau escamotable orné de personnages dans des ruines antiques.

Signé dans le décor.

Naples, Atelier des Sarao, Milieu XVIIIe siècle

4 x 18 x 13.5 cm

(Accidents et manques)


Nota :

La technique du piqué, découverte à Naples à la fin du XVIe siècle, fut très à la mode de la fin du XVIIe au XVIIIe siècle en Allemagne et en Italie.

Une fois l'écaille rendue souple à l'aide d'eau bouillante et d'huile d'olive, le décor est appliqué par pression, ornant toutes sortes d'objets de tabletterie, de toilette, encriers, boîtes, coffrets, peignes, etc. Objets précieux, ils furent collectionnés par les voyageurs du Grand Tour. La reine Charlotte, épouse de George III, avait une collection de piqués.

Plusieurs ateliers napolitains sont identifiés ; cependant très peu d'objets sont signés.

De l'atelier des Sarao, on connaît Gennaro mais aussi Giuseppe qui signa "Sarao Fecit Neapoli" une écritoire conservée à la Wallace Collection et illustrée dans A. Gonzalez-Palacios, "Il Tempio del Gusto", Vol. II, Milan, 1984, p. 231, ill. 529.

La dynastie des Sarao à Naples fait partie des meilleurs ateliers d'objets en écailles piquées. Ils vont acquérir un grand talent dans l'art du piqué et dans leurs décors allant du pur décor « Bérain » jusqu'à un allègement avec des figures plus importantes sur un fond aéré.


Bibliographie: A. Kugel, «Complètement Piqué, Le fol art de l'écaille à la cour de Naples», Editions Monelle Hayot, 2018.


Commentaire : * Ce spécimen réalisé dans des parties et fragments d'écaille de Cheloniidae spp est bien antiérieur au 1er juin 1947. Il est classé à l'Annexe I au titre de la Convention de Washington, à l'Annexe A du Règlement Communautaire Européen 338/97 du 09/12/1996, ainsi qu'au Code de l'environnement français.


* En revanche, pour une sortie de l'UE, un CITES de ré-export sera nécessaire, celui-ci étant à la charge du futur acquéreur.

Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue