SÈVRES Rare dessert plate from the Emperor's... - Lot 183 - Osenat

Lot 183
Go to lot
Estimation :
140000 - 180000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 350 000EUR
SÈVRES Rare dessert plate from the Emperor's... - Lot 183 - Osenat

SÈVRES Rare dessert plate from the Emperor's private service, called service des quartiers généraux, representing in the center the feast on Mount St. Bernard on the occasion of the funeral of General Desaix, showing officers gathered on the snowy mountain, some descending on sledges, the wing with a green chromium background decorated in gold with a frieze of swords linked by a garland of laurel leaves and alternating with stars The scene signed Swebach in the lower center. Marks on the reverse: the mark of the imperial manufacture of Sevres erased and replaced by the figure of Louis XVIII, two engraved interlaced Ls highlighted in black, n° 42 engraved and highlighted in black. Mark in hollow D C. Painted by Jacques François Joseph Swebach (1769-1823) in July 1808. Empire period, year 1808. Taken by Napoleon during his exile in Saint Helena. D. 23,2 cm. A small chip restored on the edge. On the back, a label : Nicolier collection.


Provenance:

Private service of the Emperor Napoleon I, delivered to the Tuileries Palace on 27 April 1810.

Taken by the Emperor Napoleon I to St. Helena.

THE EMPEROR'S PRIVATE SERVICE

In October 1807, Emperor Napoleon I ordered a new service from the Sèvres factory to replace the Olympic service he had just given to Tsar Alexander I.

This service, named service particulier de l'Empereur or later Service des Quartiers Générauxwas delivered on April 27, 1810 to the Tuileries Palace, just in time to be included on the banquet table of the wedding with Marie-Louise on April 2, 1810.

The service consisted of an entrée service and a dessert service accompanied by a large biscuit set of twenty-five sculptures and an Egyptian cabaret of twenty-nine pieces, all for the considerable sum of 69,549 francs. A painting by Alexandre Dufay, known as Casanova, now preserved at the Château de Fontainebleau, illustrates the wedding banquet where the following are represented around the service Grand Vermeil service of the Emperor, several elements of the biscuit service.

The service included 72 painted dessert plates, 24 soup plates and 24 dessert plates called plates to be assembled with edge only.

For the painted plates, Napoleon's instruction transmitted by Daru to Brongniart is as follows: that among these drawings, there should be no battles or names of men but that, on the contrary, the subjects should offer only very indirect allusions that awaken pleasant memories.

At the time of the first Restoration in 1814, the seventy-two plates kept at the Tuileries were sent to the Sèvres factory to have the mark of the first Empire ground off and replaced by the two interlaced Ls engraved in black, the figure of Louis XVIII. Each plate is then also numbered in black. Napoleon found his service during the Hundred Days and after Waterloo, in June 1815, Fouché authorised him to take sixty plates to St Helena. Napoleon did not use this service for fear that it would be broken. He offered two plates at the time of the 1817 New Year's gift, one to Mme Bertrand, the other to Mme de Montholon. Ali notes in his comments: "At dinner, [the Emperor] amused himself by looking at the paintings on the plates of the beautiful Sèvres porcelain service. It should be noted that under these plates, the Bourbons had had the figure of Louis XVIII engraved with opposite L's". In his will, Napoleon asked Count Montholon to keep the plates and to give them to the Duke of Reichstatd when he turned sixteen. The Viennese court refused this bequest and Montholon kept the plates and distributed them.

Twenty-three plates from the Emperor's private service are now kept at the Château de Fontainebleau, nineteen at the Fondation Napoléon, three at the Château de la Malmaison, three at the Musée Royal de l'Armée in Brussels, two at the Musée de Sèvres, one at the Musée du Louvre, and a few others in private collections (see Osenat sales, Fontainebleau, November 16, 2014, lot 129; February 2, 2017, lot 210; May 5, 2021, lot 220).

See Bernard Chevallier, <em style="color: blac

My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

SÈVRES Rare assiette à dessert du service... - Lot 183 - Osenat

Lot 183
Aller au lot
Estimation :
140000 - 180000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 350 000EUR
SÈVRES Rare assiette à dessert du service... - Lot 183 - Osenat

SÈVRES Rare assiette à dessert du service particulier de l’Empereur dit service des quartiers généraux représentant au centre la fête sur le mont Saint-Bernard à l’occasion des funérailles du général Desaix, montrant des officiers réunis sur la montagne enneigée, certains descendant en luge, l’aile à fond vert de chrome décorée en or d’une frise de glaives reliés par une guirlandes de feuilles de laurier et alternées d’étoiles. La scène signée Swebach en bas au centre. Marques au revers : la marque de la manufacture impériale de Sèvres effacée et remplacée par le chiffre de Louis XVIII, deux L entrelacés gravés rehaussés en noir, n° 42 gravé et rehaussé en noir. Marque en creux D C. Peinte par Jacques François Joseph Swebach (1769-1823) en juillet 1808. Epoque Empire, année 1808. Emportée par Napoléon lors de son exil à Sainte-Hélène. D. 23,2 cm. Un petit éclat restauré sur le bord. Au revers, une étiquette : collection Nicolier.


Provenance :

Service particulier de l’Empereur Napoléon Ier, livré au Palais des Tuileries le 27 avril 1810.

Emportée par l’Empereur Napoléon Ier à Sainte-Hélène.

 

LE SERVICE PARTICULIER DE L’EMPEREUR

En octobre 1807, l’Empereur Napoléon Ier commande un nouveau service à la manufacture de Sèvres pour remplacer le service Olympique qu’il vient d’offrir au Tsar Alexandre 1er.

Ce service, nommé service particulier de l’Empereur ou plus tard Service des Quartiers Généraux, est livré le 27 avril 1810 au Palais des Tuileries, juste à temps pour figurer sur la table de banquet du mariage avec Marie-Louise le 2 avril 1810.

Le service se composait d’un service d’entrée et d’un service de dessert accompagné d’un large surtout en biscuit composé de vingt-cinq sculptures et un cabaret égyptien de vingt-neuf pièces, l’ensemble pour la somme considérable de 69.549 francs. Une peinture par Alexandre Dufay dit Casanova, aujourd’hui conservée de au Château de Fontainebleau, illustre le banquet du mariage où sont représentés autour du service Grand Vermeil de l’Empereur plusieurs éléments du surtout en biscuit.

Le service comportait 72 assiettes à dessert peintes, 24 assiettes à potage et 24 assiettes à dessert nommées assiettes à monter à bordure seulement.

Pour les assiettes peintes, l’instruction de Napoléon transmise par Daru à Brongniart est la suivante : que parmi ces dessins, il n’y ait point de bataille ni de noms d’hommes mais qu’au contraire, les sujets n’offrent que des allusions très indirectes qui réveillent des souvenirs agréables.

Lors de la 1ère Restauration en 1814, les soixante-douze assiettes conservées aux Tuileries sont envoyées à la manufacture de Sèvres afin d’y faire meuler la marque du premier Empire pour la remplacer par les deux L entrelacés gravés en noir, chiffre de Louis XVIII. Chaque assiette est alors également numérotée en creux et en noir. Napoléon retrouve son service pendant les Cent-Jours et après Waterloo, en juin 1815, Fouché l’autorise à emporter soixante assiettes à Sainte-Hélène. Napoléon n’utilise pas ce service de crainte qu’il ne soit cassé. Il offre deux assiettes lors des étrennes de 1817, l’une à Mme Bertrand, l’autre à Mme de Montholon. Ali note dans ses commentaires : « A Diner, [l’Empereur] s’amuse à regarder les peintures des assiettes du beau service de porcelaine de Sèvres. Il est à observer que sous ces assiettes, les Bourbons avaient fait graver le chiffre de Louis XVIII, des L opposés ». Dans son testament, Napoléon charge le comte Montholon de garder les assiettes et de les remettre au duc de Reichstatd à ses seize ans. La Cour de Vienne refuse ce legs et Montholon conserve les assiettes et les distribue.

Vingt-trois assiettes du service particulier de l’Empereur sont aujourd’hui conservées au château de Fontainebleau, dix-neuf à la Fondation Napoléon, trois au château de la Malmaison, trois au musée royal de l’armée de Bruxelles, deux au musée de Sèvres, une au musée du Louvre et quelques autres dans des collections particulières (voir les ventes Osenat, Fontainebleau, 16 novembre 2014, lot 129 ; 2 février 2017, lot 210 ; 5 mai 2021, lot 220).

Voir Bernard Chevallier,

Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue