SÈVRES Important porcelain cabaret named... - Lot 169 - Osenat

Lot 169
Go to lot
Estimation :
80000 - 100000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 125 000EUR
SÈVRES Important porcelain cabaret named... - Lot 169 - Osenat

SÈVRES Important porcelain cabaret named Cabaret des femmes célèbres with polychrome decoration of portraits of women in bust in medallions surrounded by a gold frame with the name of the woman inscribed, the medallions stand out on a green chromium background decorated with garlands of flowers and fruits, ribbons, butterflies and swans in gold, the center of the saucers is decorated with an antique trophy in gold The women represented are Christine, Queen of Sweden, Anne of Austria, Mary Stuart, Catherine II of Russia, Blanche of Castille, Elizabeth of England, Marguerite de Valois, Mme de Grafigny, Marie Thérèse of Austria, Mme Dehoulières, Mme de la Vallière, Agnès Sorel, Mme du Châtelet, Jeanne Gray, Rosalba, Héloïse, Anne de La Vigne. It includes a covered teapot called Asselin teapot, a covered sugar pot called pot à sucre à pied anse volute covered, a milk pot called pot à lait grec, a bowl called jatte à fruits hémisphérique, nine cups and their saucers called cups Jasmin à pied cannelé. The portraits are signed : Mme Jaquotot and under the pieces : Victoire Jaquotot pinx. On the reverse side: mark of the imperial manufacture of Sevres: M. Imp.le de Sevres 10 or 1811. Empire period, years 1810-1811. Some restorations, a condition report is available on request


Given by Napoleon I to his sister Pauline Borghese for the December 1810 Christmas gift.

Rieunier & Bailly-Pommery, Hôtel Drouot, 30 June 2003

Christie's, Paris, 8 November 2013, lot 29.

In October 1806, Alexandre Brongniart, director of the Sèvres factory, defined the subjects of new cabarets, that of French Warriorsthe cabaret of the French writers, the one of the painters, sculptors and musicians or even the cabaret of women who are famous otherwise than for their beauty in order, he writes, to give "interest and value to these kinds of services and to prepare suitable presents".

The cabaret of famous women echoes the figures of the Great Men imagined by the Count of Angiviller from 1776. However, the aim is no longer to celebrate exclusively those who have made France great but the women of Europe, who have become illustrious through their talent, their commitment, their work or their power.

For the cabaret of famous women, Brongniart drew up a list of twenty women in 1806, sovereigns of Europe, women known for their political action, women of letters, painters and scientists. He entrusted the realization of the portraits of these women to Marie-Victoire Jaquotot (1772-1855), a painter on porcelain who made according to him very well the portraits of women.

From January 1807, the green background pieces are carried from Sèvres to 48 rue de Bondy in Paris at Madame Jaquotot's where she works from her workshop equipped with a muffle fire kiln.

The manufacture of Sèvres carried out three cabarets known as of the famous womeneach painted by Marie-Victoire Jaquotot.

The first cabaret of the famous women including twelve cups and four pieces of form is finished in December 1807 and delivered on December 31 to Caroline Murat. Its current location is unknown.

Our cabaret is the second cabaret of the famous women of the same composition as the first one, it is delivered in 1810 and 1811 to the princess Pauline Borghese.

The third cabaret is delivered in June 1812 to the Empress Josephine who gives it back to the factory. It is then delivered to the Empress Marie Louise, perhaps kept by her or offered by her to the Countess of Segur on January 1, 1813. This last cabaret was recently sold at public auction (Osenat, Fontainebleau, 22 March 2021, lot 145, sold for 262,500 euros, bought by the Clark Art Institute, Williamstown, Massachusetts, U.S.A.)

The cabaret delivered in 1810 to the princess

My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

SÈVRES Important cabaret en porcelaine nommé... - Lot 169 - Osenat

Lot 169
Aller au lot
Estimation :
80000 - 100000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 125 000EUR
SÈVRES Important cabaret en porcelaine nommé... - Lot 169 - Osenat

SÈVRES Important cabaret en porcelaine nommé Cabaret des femmes célèbres à décor polychrome de portraits de femmes en buste dans des médaillons cernés d’un cadre en or portant le nom de la femme inscrit, les médaillons se détachent sur un fond vert de chrome orné de guirlandes de fleurs et fruits, rubans, papillons et cygnes en or, le centre des soucoupes est décoré d’un trophée antique en or. Les femmes représentées sont Christine, Reine de Suède, Anne d’Autriche, Marie Stuart, Catherine II de Russie, Blanche de Castille, Elisabeth d’Angleterre, Marguerite de Valois, Mme de Grafigny, Marie Thérèse d’Autriche, Mme Dehoulières, Mme de la Vallière, Agnès Sorel, Mme du Châtelet, Jeanne Gray, Rosalba, Héloïse, Anne de La Vigne. Il comprend une théière couverte nommée théière Asselin, un pot à sucre couvert nommé pot à sucre à pied anse volute couvert, un pot à lait nommé pot à lait grec, une jatte nommée jatte à fruits hémisphérique, neuf tasses et leur soucoupe nommées tasses Jasmin à pied cannelé. Les portraits sont signés : Mme Jaquotot et sous les pièces : Victoire Jaquotot pinx. Au revers : marque de la manufacture impériale de Sèvres : M. Imp.le de Sèvres 10 ou 1811. Epoque Empire, années 1810-1811. Quelques restaurations, un rapport d’état est disponible sur demande


Offert par Napoléon Ier à sa sœur Pauline Borghèse lors des étrennes de décembre 1810.

Rieunier & Bailly-Pommery, Hôtel Drouot, 30 juin 2003

Christie’s, Paris, 8 novembre 2013, lot 29.

 

En octobre 1806, Alexandre Brongniart, directeur de la manufacture de Sèvres, défini les sujets de nouveaux cabarets, celui des Guerriers français, le cabaret des Littérateurs français, celui des artistes peintres, scultpeurs et musiciens ou encore le cabaret des femmes célèbres autrement que par leur beauté afin, écrit-il, de donner de « l’intérêt et de la valeur à ces sortes de services et de préparer des présents convenables ».

Le cabaret des femmes célèbres résonne comme un écho aux figures des Grands Hommes imaginées par le comte d’Angiviller à partir de 1776. L’objet n’est cependant plus de célébrer exclusivement ceux qui ont fait la grandeur de la France mais les femmes d’Europe, devenues illustres par leur talent, leur engagement, leurs travaux ou leur pouvoir.

Pour le cabaret des femmes célèbres, Brongniart dresse en 1806 la liste de vingt femmes, souveraines d’Europe, femmes connues pour leur action politique, femmes de lettres, artistes peintres, scientifiques. Il confie la réalisation des portraits de ces femmes à Marie-Victoire Jaquotot (1772-1855), peintre sur porcelaine qui fait selon lui très bien les portraits de femmes.

 

A partir de janvier 1807, les pièces à fond vert sont portées depuis Sèvres jusqu’au 48 rue de Bondy à Paris chez Madame Jaquotot où elle travaille depuis son atelier équipé d’un four de feu de moufle.

 

La manufacture de Sèvres a réalisé trois cabarets dits des femmes célèbres, chacun peint par Marie-Victoire Jaquotot.

 

Le premier cabaret des femmes célèbres comprenant douze tasses et quatre pièces de forme est terminé en décembre 1807 et livré le 31 décembre à Caroline Murat. Sa localisation actuelle est inconnue.

 

Notre cabaret est le second cabaret des femmes célèbres de la même composition que le premier, il est livré en 1810 et 1811 à la princesse Pauline Borghèse.

 

Le troisième cabaret est livré en juin 1812 à l’Impératrice Joséphine qui le rend à la manufacture. Il est ensuite livré à l’impératrice Marie Louise, peut-être gardé par elle ou offert par elle à la comtesse de Ségur le 1er janvier 1813. Ce dernier cabaret est récemment passé en vente publique (Osenat, Fontainebleau, 22 mars 2021, lot 145, vendu 262.500 euros, acheté par le Clark Art Institute, Williamstown, Massachusetts, U.S.A.)

 

Le cabaret livré en 1810 à la princesse

Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue