[MOSCOW FIRE] [Fedor Rostoshin] [Alexander... - Lot 36 - Osenat

Lot 36
Go to lot
Estimation :
18000 - 20000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 21 250EUR
[MOSCOW FIRE] [Fedor Rostoshin] [Alexander... - Lot 36 - Osenat
[MOSCOW FIRE]
[Fedor Rostoshin]
[Alexander I]
Manuscript copy of 27 letters addressed to Tsar Alexander I (27 May-2 December 1812).
60 folio pages in black ink on 15 double sheets of lined wove paper. Copy made in the second half of the 19th century. In French with several notes in Russian.
Placed in a folder bearing the inscription: "Papiers Rostopchine / Unpublished / and may be published / Given formerly to X*** by the Countess Lydia Rostopchine" and contained in a gilt-edged insert closed by a ribbon (lined with modern paper). Weakened fold and small tears without missing on the first letter.

Exciting correspondence from the governor of Moscow to Tsar Alexander I during the Russian campaign, which sheds light on his role in the burning of the Russian capital and his controversial policy in Moscow.

Count Fedor Rostopchin (1763-1826), father of the future Countess of Segur, began his career close to Empress Catherine II. He was very close to Paul I and served as Russia's Minister of Foreign Affairs from 1799 to 1801. After a ten-year break, he was recalled by Alexander I and returned to politics as Governor General of Moscow from 1812 to 1814, i.e. at the time of the invasion of the country by Napoleonic troops. Fedor Rostopchin was an unusual personality, known for his controversial decisions in Moscow. After the war, he spent the rest of his life justifying himself to society, trying to rid himself of the image of the "Moscow arsonist". The period of his governance in Moscow remains mysterious and very poorly studied until now.

The archive presented at the auction is the only old original document in private hands that takes us back to the origins of the Moscow fire story. These copies come from the family papers of Countess Lydia Rostopchina (1838-1915), granddaughter of the Count. She had spent many years in France and settled there permanently around 1865. She returned to Russia several times to study the archives, from which she drew material for several lectures, as well as the edition of the unpublished works of Count Rostopchine (1894) and her book Les Rostopchine, chroniques de famille, published in French in 1909. Count Rostopchin's letters to the Tsar remained largely unpublished for a long time before they were published in 1903 in the Carnet historique et littéraire, probably from this copy.
The first publication of these letters took place in 1892 in Russia in the historical journal "Russian Archives". The editor of this publication states: "We are printing these letters from an autograph copy provided to us by Count Andrey Fedorovich Rostopchin. We have never had the French originals of his noble father's letters which are kept in the Rostopchin family. He also indicates that the letters are in French and that the newspaper publishes the original text accompanied by a Russian translation. This allows us to say that all official publications came from handwritten copies from the Rostopchin family. "The Russian archives also tell us that Andrei Rostopchin was planning to publish a separate book on this correspondence, but the publication was suspended due to a lawsuit over the poor translation of the original texts. At the same time, the French publisher refused to publish the documents of Count Andrei Rostopchin, asking for exclusive rights for any publication.

The presented copy of this correspondence was probably the basis for the French publication of 1903 and remains the only existing copy in private hands.

The letters that Fedor Rostoshin addressed during this period to the tsar constitute a historical document of the highest order. It shows the course of the Russian campaign as seen from Moscow from the time the governor took office until the time when he undertook to repair the war damage. We follow the approach of the French troops, their arrival at the gates of the city, the evacuation of the city without a fight, the occupation by the French, the burning, the departure of the occupants, and the return of the governor to the ravaged city.

The letters show Rostopchin's personality and his historical decisions, such as the trial of Verestchagin: "I dare to propose to Your Majesty a way that will reconcile justice with your clemency. It is to send me a decree for which this Verestchagin will have to be taken to the gallows to be hanged, but there will only be marked and sent to Siberia, to forced labour in the mines. I will put much apparatus into this execution, and it will not be known that he is pardoned from death until I pronounce." (July 4, 1812). History teaches us
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

[INCENDIE DE MOSCOU] [Fédor Rostopchine]... - Lot 36 - Osenat

Lot 36
Aller au lot
Estimation :
18000 - 20000 EUR
[INCENDIE DE MOSCOU] [Fédor Rostopchine]... - Lot 36 - Osenat
[INCENDIE DE MOSCOU]
[Fédor Rostopchine]
[Alexandre Ier]
Copie manuscrite de 27 lettres adressées au tsar Alexandre Ier (27 mai-2 décembre 1812).
60 pages in-folio à l’encre noire sur 15 doubles feuillets de papier vélin ligné. Copie réalisée dans la seconde moitié du XIXe siècle. En français avec plusieurs notes en russe.
Placées dans une chemise portant l’inscription : « Papiers Rostopchine / Inédits / et pouvant être publiés / Donnés jadis à X*** par la Ctesse Lydia Rostopchine » et contenues dans un encartage à bords dorés fermé par un ruban (doublé de papier moderne). Pli fragilisé et petites déchirures sans manque sur la première lettre.

Passionnante correspondance du gouverneur de Moscou au tsar Alexandre Ier pendant la campagne de Russie, qui jette notamment la lumière sur son rôle dans l’incendie de la capitale russe et sur sa politique controversée à Moscou.

Le comte Fédor Rostopchine (1763-1826), père de la future comtesse de Ségur, a commencé sa carrière près de l’impératrice Catherine II. Il était très proche de Paul Ier et fut ministre des Affaires étrangères de Russie de 1799 à 1801 puis, après une pause de dix ans, il fut rappelé par Alexandre Ier et revint à la politique comme gouverneur général de Moscou de 1812 à 1814, c’est-à-dire au moment de l’invasion du pays par les troupes napoléoniennes. Personnalité hors du commun, Fédor Rostopchine est connu pour ses décisions controversées à Moscou. Après la guerre, il a passé le reste de sa vie à se justifier vis-à-vis de la société, cherchant à se débarrasser de l'image de l' « incendiaire de Moscou ». La période de sa gouvernance à Moscou reste mystérieuse et très mal étudiée jusque à maintenant.

L’archive présentée aux enchères constitue le seul document original ancien en mains privées qui nous renvoie aux origines de l’histoire de l’incendie de Moscou. Ces copies proviennent des papiers de famille de la comtesse Lydia Rostopchina (1838-1915), petite-fille du comte. Celle-ci, après avoir fait de nombreux séjours en France, s’y installa définitivement vers 1865. Elle retourna à plusieurs reprises en Russie pour y étudier les archives, dont elle tira la matière de plusieurs conférences, ainsi que l’édition des Œuvres inédites du comte Rostopchine (1894) et son ouvrage Les Rostopchine, chroniques de famille, publié en français en 1909. Les lettres du comte Rostopchine au tsar sont longtemps restées largement inédites avant leur publication en 1903 dans le Carnet historique et littéraire, probablement d’après cette copie.
La première publication de ces lettres a eu lieu en 1892 en Russie dans le journal historique « Les archives russes ». L’éditeur de cette publication indique : « Nous imprimons ces lettres d’après une copie autographe qui nous a été fournie par le comte Andreï Fédorovitch Rostopchine. Nous n'avons jamais eu en mains les originaux français des lettres de son noble père qui sont grardées dans la famille Rostopchine ». Il indique également que les lettres sont en français et que le journal publie le texte original accompagné par une traduction en russe. Cela permet de dire que toutes les publications officielles provenaient de copies manuscrites venant de la famille Rostopchine. « Les archives russes » nous indiquent aussi qu'Andreï Rostopchine prévoyait un livre à part entière consacré à cette correspondance, mais la parution a été suspendue en raison d’un procès lié aux mauvaises traductions des textes originaux. Puis, en parallèle, l’éditeur français a refusé la publication des documents du comte Andreï Rostopchine en demandant le droit d’exclusivité pour toute publication.

La copie présentée de cette correspondance a probablement servi de base à la publication française de 1903 et reste la seule copie existante dans des mains privées.

Les lettres que Fedor Rostopchine adressa durant cette période au tsar constituent un document historique de tout premier plan. On y voit le déroulement de la campagne de Russie vu de Moscou depuis la prise de fonction du gouverneur jusqu’à l’époque où il entreprend de réparer les dommages de guerre. On y suit l’approche des troupes françaises, leur arrivée aux portes de la ville, l’évacuation de celle-ci sans combattre, puis l’occupation par les Français, l’incendie, le départ des occupants, et le retour du gouverneur dans la ville ravagée.

Les lettres montrent la personnalité de Rostopchine et ses décisions historique, comme le procès de Vérestchaguine : «J’ose proposer à Votre Majesté un moyen qui pourra concilier la justice avec votre clémence. C’est de m’envoyer un oukaze pour lequel ce Vérestchaguine devra être mené à la potence pour être pendu, mais là sera seulement marqué et envoyé en Sibérie, aux travaux forcés dans les mines. Je mettrai beaucoup d’appareil à cette exécution, et on ne saura qu’il est gracié de la mort que quand je prononcerai. » (4 juillet 1812). L’histoire nous appren
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue