1932 Panhard & Levassor Type X66 6DS Cabriolet

Lot 2
Go to lot
Estimation :
90000 - 110000 EUR
1932 Panhard & Levassor Type X66 6DS Cabriolet
Serial number 680542
Important aesthetic and mechanical restoration
Known history
French title

The Panhard-brand appeared at the end of the 19th century, heir to a rich history of horse-drawn carriage bodywork production since the early 1800s. Having become a recognised automobile brand from 1891, Panhard-Levassor was able to start vehicle production thanks to the manufacture, under licence, of the Daimler two-cylinder engine. Rapidly gaining notoriety, Panhard became one of the world's leading car manufacturers at the beginning of the 20th century, behind Dion-Bouton, which is still in the lead. In order to stand out from the crowd and climb new rungs, the brand took up the challenge of motor racing. Starting off on a high note, this gamble paid off for Panhard, who celebrated his first victory in the Paris-Bordeaux-Paris race in 1895, followed by Paris-Dieppe and Paris-Marseille two years later in the 6HP.

The success was reflected in the number of orders and enabled Panhard to become the leading French manufacturer before the First World War, having previously concluded serious contracts with the army, which enabled the brand to play an active role in the war effort and to supply the latter to this day.
Panhard-Levassor was even the official brand of the vehicles of the Presidency of the Republic under the mandate of Raymond Poincaré between 1913 and 1920 who ordered several 18HP and 20 HP models.

Panhard's history is marked by the era of the valve-less car, which began in 1910 when the valves were replaced by a sliding sleeve in the cylinders around the pistons. From 1924 until the Second World War, the brand offered both types of engine (with or without valves) simultaneously in its catalogue. The new engine without valves is sold as a silent engine with higher torque than the traditional engine, which gives it the attributes of a comfortable and pleasant long-distance trucker on the road; however, the
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

1932 Panhard & Levassor Type X66 6DS Cabriolet

Lot 2
Aller au lot
Estimation :
90000 - 110000 EUR
1932 Panhard & Levassor Type X66 6DS Cabriolet
Numéro de série 680542
Importante restauration esthétique et mécanique
190 000 € de travaux
Historique connu
Carte grise française



La marque Panhard apparait à la fin du XIXe siècle, héritière d’un riche passé de production de carrosseries de voitures hippomobiles depuis le début des années 1800. Devenue une marque automobile reconnue à partir de 1891, Panhard-Levassor va pouvoir commencer sa production de véhicules grâce à la fabrication, sous licence, de moteur bi-cylindre Daimler. Grimpant très vite en notoriété, Panhard devient l’un des premiers constructeurs automobiles du Monde au début du XXe siècle derrière de Dion-Bouton qui court toujours en tête. Pour se démarquer et gravir de nouveaux échelons, la marque fait le pari de la course automobile. Démarrant sur les chapeaux de roues, ce pari est gagnant pour Panhard qui célèbre une première victoire sur la course Paris-Bordeaux-Paris en 1895 puis Paris-Dieppe et Paris-Marseille deux ans plus tard à bord de la 6HP.

Les succès se ressentent sur le nombre de commandes et permettent à Panhard de se hisser à la première place des constructeurs français avant la première Guerre Mondiale en ayant au préalable conclu de sérieux contrats avec l’armée, ce qui permettra à la marque de participer activement à l’effort de guerre et de fournir cette dernière encore de nos jours.
Panhard-Levassor fut même la marque officielle des véhicules de la Présidence de la République sous le Mandat de Raymond Poincaré entre 1913 et 1920 qui commande plusieurs modèles 18CV et 20 CV.

L’Histoire de Panhard est marquée par l’ère des sans-soupapes qui débute à partir de 1910 en remplaçant les soupapes par une chemise coulissante dans les cylindres autour des pistons. De 1924 jusqu’à la Seconde Guerre Mondiale, la marque proposera ces deux types de moteur (avec ou sans soupapes) simultanément dans son catalogue. Le nouveau moteur sans soupapes est vendu comme silencieu
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue