1910 Brasier 12HP Double-Phaéton

Lot 1
Go to lot
Estimation :
60000 - 80000 EUR
1910 Brasier 12HP Double-Phaéton
Rare pre-World War I 4 cylinder engine
Complete original accessories
Numerous period documents
Beautiful patina
French title

The four-leaf clover, a rare herb with a reputation for bringing good luck, was chosen by George Richard and his brother to symbolise their bicycle factory at the end of the 19th century. Very quickly prosperous, the Richard brothers turned to the manufacture of "horse-free cycles" of which their first was driven by a small single-cylinder developing 3.5 horses and which can be considered as their first car produced between 1896 and 1902 under the name of Pony.

For his part, Charles-Henri Brasier, a young industrial draughtsman who had just graduated from the Arts et Métiers school in Chalons, was a draughtsman for the Mors car factory at the dawn of the 20th century. Qualified as intelligent and ingenious, Brasier will put his talent at the service of the company by developing the first 4-cylinder V engine with breaker ignition that can be placed under the bonnet of a car. In view of these mechanical advances, Mors decided to enter his cars in competitions and commissioned Brasier to motorise them. After many successes, Braiser and Mors had some conflicts of interest, notably due to the fact that Charles-Henri demanded increasingly powerful cars; these events led to Brasier's resignation from the Mors company in 1901, from which date Mors would no longer have any competitive victories.

The fates of Brasier and Richard crossed in 1902 when Charles-Henri Brasier teamed up with the Richard brothers in their car company now known as Richard-Brasier. Several cars will see the light of day after this union but without standing out from the competition and still very attached to the design of Panhard-Levassor, the company in which Brasier was employed at the beginning of his career. Major studies were then undertaken by Richard-Brasier to develop a certain number of mechanical patents in 19
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

1910 Brasier 12HP Double-Phaéton

Lot 1
Aller au lot
Estimation :
60000 - 80000 EUR
1910 Brasier 12HP Double-Phaéton
Rare 4 cylindres d’avant Première Guerre Mondiale
Accessoires d’origine au complet
Nombreux documents d’époque
Belle patine
Carte grise française

Le trèfle à quatre feuilles, herbe rare dont la réputation est de porter bonheur, fut choisi par George Richard et son frère pour symboliser leur fabrique de bicyclettes à la fin du XIXe siècle. Très vite prospère, les frères Richard se tournent vers la fabrication des « cycles sans chevaux » dont leur premier sera entrainé par un petit mono cylindre développant 3,5 chevaux et qui peut être considéré comme leur première voiture produite entre 1896 et 1902 sous le nom de Poney.

De son coté, Charles-Henri Brasier, jeune dessinateur industriel fraîchement diplômé de l’école des Arts et Métiers de Chalons est dessinateur pour la fabrique automobiles Mors à l’aube du XXe siècle. Qualifié comme intelligent et ingénieux, Brasier mettra son talent au service de la société en développant le premier moteur à 4 cylindres en V avec allumage par rupteur que l’on peut placer sous le capot d’une voiture. À la vue de ces avancées mécaniques, Mors décida d’engager ses voitures en compétitions et il chargea Brasier de les motoriser. Après de nombreux succès, Braiser et Mors eurent quelques conflits d’intérêt notamment dû au fait que Charles-Henri exigeait des voitures de plus en plus puissantes ; ces événements eurent pour conséquence la démission de Brasier de l’entreprise Mors en 1901 ; date à partir de laquelle Mors ne connaitra plus aucune victoire en compétition.

Les destins de Brasier et Richard se croisent en 1902 quand Charles-Henri Brasier s’associe avec les frères Richard dans leur entreprise automobiles désormais connue sous le nom de Richard-Brasier. Plusieurs voitures verront le jour après cette union mais sans se démarquer de la concurrence et surtout encore très attachées au design de Panhard-Levassor, entreprise dans laquelle Brasier fut employé au début de sa carrièr
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue